Project Log: DIY Canister light

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

ucfdiver

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
This thread will be used as a running post for my canister light research. Don't expect this to be done this week, or even this month, as I'm a full time student with a part time job, so my time is limited. Being in the college of engineering, I have several friends who are mechanical engineers and are working at machine shops, so I'll have some resources at my disposal.

My research starts at this site
Steve Cooper's DIY Scuba Gear

Right now I'm leaning towards using LED's, because I'll be doing intro to cave, and I like the whiter light that they give off. HID would be the ultimate goal here, but that's a pricey thing to use for what's essentially a project to keep me entertained when I have down time.

Differences I've decided on from the tutorial
1- I'll be using the rear end of the maglite rather than the plastic stuff he used. I'll use the JB weld around the joining.
2- Since we'll be using LED's, I'll need resistors to make sure the LED's aren't overdriven, and a capacitor to even out the power flow as the battery dies.
3- I'll be using a 24v 3500mAh Nimh battery, down converting that to 12v, so burn time should not be an issue. Chargers for these batteries will be available at any hobby shop for about $20.

Sources for parts (I'll provide links once I find the final materials)-
Mag-lite
Canister
Switch
Capacitor
JB Weld - Around $5 at lowes or home depot