dry suit bouyancy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

chuckrt

Contributor
Reaction score
I have been diving with my drysuit now for a couple of months and I am not comfortable using it as my bouyancy control. I no there has been many opinions expressed and the manuals state to use your suit only unless on the surface. I also feel I have to make up my mind which is better for me, BC or Suit. Here are the main questions. How much air is required to relieve suit squeeze, should some be alright? And when in really cold water and using argon isn't more in your suit going to keep you warmer? As you go deeper do you add more air for the squeeze , and less in your BC?

Chuckrt

You're better off using your BC for the use it was intended; offsetting the effects of compression & adjusting for the buoyancy difference of the air consumed. Add air to your suit for the purpose of squeeze relief. Adjust your suit first, as this will affect your buoyancy.
Go easy on the suit inflator though, it's real common to over compensate when you're first learning how to use the suit.
If you're using a shell suit, adding a spritz of air to the suit as you descend will also offset the effects of "undie compression" & you won't need to use the BC much 'till you use a bunch of air from your tank.