Which wetsuit for warmth????

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AmysOnline

Reaction score
okay - I'm new to diving - and I'm hooked! I live in New England and I need a WARM wetsuit. I'm not ready for a drysuit yet, so I need a toasty 7mm wetsuit - if there is one. I have been leaning towards the Henderson Gold - "They" (Henderson) say it is so warm and easy to get on... sounds nice - but I would rather hear that from other experienced divers. Not to mention, $$$$. I would really hate to spend the big bucks on the Henderson Gold if I can be warmer in something else.

Which suit would you recommend for warmth. Ease of putting it on is nice... but not my main concern is not freezing my butt off!

Thanks
Amy

Amy,

We live in California and do not even dive here! Imagine how we would feel about a Northeast Winter dive! But I did spent a few years in the Northeast whilst in school and I didn't think the water at Cape Cod was all that cold--in summer. However, bottom line, we never have dived in the US coastal Atlantic.

But let me say a word about Henderson Gold anyhow: we have then and love them. Why? Precisely because they are a lot easier to get in and out of when you are wet (compared to ordinary neoprene and its congeneric polymers). There are other brands that have similar materials, but we have not tried them yet--e.g., Parkhurst has "Titanium" and I think others do as well.