Atlan Custom Wetsuit Models?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

DiverBen

Registered
Reaction score
Northern NY State, just south of Montreal, Canada.
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey folks,

I'm leaning toward a custom suit from Atlan. A local diver has recommended them and they are relatively close to me (as opposed to all the other custom guys).

I am new to diving but will be diving mostly cold water in and around Northern NY. Currently shying away from drysuits do to cost, esp since I'd need a custom.

So, that being said can anyone help me through the models of cold water suits that Atlan offers? Atlan Wetsuits

The water temp at depth at my main dive site will be 50-60 degrees.

Is it better to have a hood attached? Farmer John or one piece? Any other insight on suit picking will be appreciated.

Atlan makes a good wetsuit for the price. I would recommend getting a 2 piece 7mm wetsuit or a 1 piece 7mm, but it depends a lot on your body type and tolerance to cold.

As for a hood, there are pros and cons to an attached hood. If you go detatched, you can dive without a hood when the water is warmer, if you can tolerate it. 65 degrees is about the coldest I can go. Having a separate hood means an extra step when putting on your suit. An attached hood can lead to gaping around the neck and possibility of getting cold.

Having a custom suit will definately be more comfortable, and for the price, a lot easier on your checkbook than a drysuit.