What to wear under wetsuits

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

aaen

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
I am just starting out with diving, and a few guys I talked to told me to wear spandex pabts under the wetsuit to aid in getting it on and off. Just wondering if this was a good idea, and also if you have any of your own ideas.

Thanks

Steve

Steve,

I personally wear a "skin suit" made specifically for scuba under my wetsuit. It's basically a spandex suit that's smooth on the outside & either insulated or not on the inside. The extra insulation helps if you're diving in colder water & the suit makes getting into & out of my wetsuit really quick & easy. If I remember right, they can be had for $100 or less depending on the insulation... (Mine was a gift, so I don't really know the prices...) If you don't want to invest in a skin suit, I have heard that some people make up diluted solutions of either hair conditioner or liquid soap & water to squirt inside their suit & make it easier to get into. Hope this helps.

JP

Steve the only tidbit I can ad on this subject is that a skin etc. can easily snag in the zipper of a back zip wetsuit. For that very reason I don't wear one under my wetsuit. This situation can easily be overcome by your dive buddy but since I do a lot of solo diving that alternative is not available to me.
:shades:

Nothing, of course!!!