Purchasing first wet suit 7mm - Henderson Aqualock or Bares Elastik

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

wolflegresley

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Good Day SB!

I am still new to diving (11 dives) but am now in the process of buying my gear! I live in Ontario Canada which means almost all my dives HAVE to be in 7mm (or drysuit which I'm not interested in for another year or so) and I have done a ton of research for my wife and I. I am down between:

Henderson 7mm Aqualock
Henderson 7mm Men's Aqua Lock Jumpsuit at LeisurePro

or

Bares 7mm Elastek (With additonal purchase of 7mm step in hood/vest)

Bare 2014 Elastek 7mm Men's Full Suit, Black/Blue at LeisurePro

What I'm looking for in a wetsuit:

Budget of approx $500 (Cdn dollars) - some flexability
Great customer service
a decent range of motion (a tall order for a 7mm I know)
A warranty that the company will honor without too much hassle.

I'm also open to suggestions of other wetsuits in this price range...

OR maybe I should continue to rent my wetsuit this year and then just buy a drysuit next year?

Thoughts?

I like the Farmer John style with the step in jacket that gives the diver 14mm around the torso and groin. LeisurePro has them in a cold water package for < $250.00. I don't find hard to move but it is warm especially on the surface!

Men's Cold Water Wetsuit Package at LeisurePro