DUI 30/30 ankle seal or turbo sole

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

eelnoraa

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I have been eyeing on a DUI 30/30 type of suit for warm water diving. I found one. It came with ankle seal that needs to be replaced. I wonder if I should replace them or just get turbo sole. What would the advantage or disadvantage of ankle seal? I have never used them before.

Ankle seals --can they possibly leak around the calf muscle area of the upper Achilles Tendon, especially with forceful frog kicking or modified flutter?

ankle seals can leak if you have very pronounced Achilles tendons, same as wrist seals if you have bony wrists. Turbo soles suck, nothing else to say, not just DUI, all integrated boots suck. I'd replace the ankle seals, just use the DRiS seam tape, and if you don't like them, buy some neoprene socks and dive with standard scuba booties over them and you're good to go.

I have about 400 dives on my 30/30. Only time the ankle seals have leaked is if I've gotten the undergarment pulled into the seal.

deco1.jpg

Blue32.jpg

The should really be called "calf" seals, as they sit (properly) on the bottom of the calf more than the ankle. The bottom edge of the seal for me sits 3" or so above my ankle.

I would NEVER replace the ankle seals with turbo soles. Allowing your feet to get wet is one of the nice things about the suit. Helps keep you from overheating and/or feeling like you're diving in a bag.