Wearing full foot fins with shoes

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Iralub

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Greetings, I'm new to SB and fairly new to diving. Have what is probably a silly question re fins.

I'm a very small female and have tiny feet - between women's size 4.5 and 5 (EU size 35). I've been looking for a good pair of fins that would give good return for effort, but are not too stiff/too hard for my legs to power. Finding good fins that would fit my tinny feet is not proving easy. OK, it's actually not proving possible.

My LDS suggested using a good full foot fin (Seawing Novas) with a dive boot. My foot with a dive boot on fits into size small of the full foot Seawing. Looking at various online reviews, Seawings are likely to be suitable for me (good efficiency and not too hard to kick), but I was wondering whether the shoe inside full foot pocket arrangement would cause problems.

Has anyone used shoes with full foot fins? How did you find it?

I'd be grateful for any advice

If you buy the two together and the fit is good, I do not see why not. But I would have thought even the softest shoe would be a bu**er to squeeze into a fin pocket meant for bare feet.

My wife used to use fin socks for her full-foot fins but found it difficult and changed to boots and open-pocket fins.

Well I once forgot my boots on a cenote dive in Mexico and was able fit my fins over my sandals, worked like a charm but wouldn't recommend it :)