Masks, snorkels, fins OH MY!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

sll612

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hi all! I'm totally new to this SCUBA thing. I start my certification tonight and know that very shortly (today or tomorrow) I have to pick up my own mask, snorkel and fins. What can I expect to spend for these three items? I know things aren't cheap, but is $300 feasible?

Thanks!

$300 is feasible, just cutting a little close there on time.... These guys might be able to overnight it to you if you order like now.

XT Fin - Dive Right in Scuba
good fins, not the cheapest but VERY very good fins
HOG Tech 2 Fin - Dive Right in Scuba
also good fins and a bit cheaper, harder on the legs to flutter kick

Hog Razorbak Frameless Mask - Dive Right in Scuba
good mask, cheap. what a lot of tech divers use. black skirt, low profile, i prefer frameless. Great masks.

Oceanic BLAST SNORKEL | Dive Right In Scuba - Plainfield, IL - Dive Right in Scuba
no reason for any more snorkel than that because as soon as you start actually diving you'll not really bring it out again and the simple J snorkels are still the best of the lot anyway. Buy the cheapest snorkel you can, check craigslist and grab a used one, doesn't matter.

take care of them and they'll last you the rest of your life. If you have a diverite dealer, go there, those XT fins are worth a 1hour drive

---------- Post added September 2nd, 2014 at 06:11 PM ----------

minnesota DR dealers