Time for New Fins

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Diver43

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I have been using the same pair of USDiver Blades since 1994 and have decided it is time for some new ones. I have brought the choices down to: Mares Avanti Quattro Plus, Aqualung Slingshots or Aqualung Hotshots. I like the power of the Quattros, the adjustability of the Slingshots and the adjustability and shorter length of the Hotshots. Unfortunately unlike a firearm I cant go to a range and rent each model and try it. Local shops that rent gear do not offer these fins as rentals and they are a little expensive to purchase blind. I welcome any and all suggestions and why. Most use will be South Florida reefs.

My first question is what is leading you to the decision to ditch the blades? Those are amazing fins! I do feel your pain with respect to not being able to try fins you intend to buy, as they are really a personal preference type of item. This is the reason that I have bought and sold numerous fins over the years before I settled with Turtles for wrecks and Dive Rite's for caves.

those old blade fins are as good as it gets man, no reason to "upgrade". If you want something lighter, try the DiveRite XT's, they're quite nice, but you will see many good technical divers with some form of those blade fins, be it Turtles, Jet Fins, IDI, Hog, Poseidon, OMS, you name it, but they're all some of the best fins ever made