South Florida Shark Sightings

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CMinerva

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Well I have been diving for two years now. I dive regulary (every month in winter, every other week in summer) and I still haven't spotted any impressive sharks. I have had my share of small Nurse Sharks (mostly while diving in Cozumel). I thought it might be interesting for people to list their favorite dive sites were shark sightings were failry common. Hopefully, this can help my quest in seeing one of these amazing creatures!!

Lots of sharks in Jupiter. It's my understanding that reefs are pretty common at Tunnels, Hole in the Wall (as well as bulls and lemons). There's also the lemon shark migration up there in norther PBC from Dec or Jan through Feb I think?

I'm in the same boat as you, I see lots of "pretty" nurse sharks, but not enough of the vicious man eaters I keep hearing about. I hope to make it up to Jupiter for the lemons this winter.

I've seen more nurse sharks than I can shake a stick at in the Keys (and I'm a drummer, so there's a lot of stick shaking goin' on) I've seen only ONE Caribbean Reef shark in all those dives!