Ready to buy some gear... thoughts on my selection?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

tenley

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
I've been diving for a few years now and am ready to buy some dive gear. I would love some thoughts from the forum...

My local dive shop helped me pick this stuff out... they didn't have a ton of selection, but then again, more options would just confuse me.

I want safe, basic stuff (I'm used to diving with rental gear so my standards are low) and I want stuff that can fit in a carry on. My budget is around $1000. I think I'll be a little over with this stuff but that's okay. Budgets are made to be broken (a little).

BCD: Aqua Lung Zuma (Zuma - New Color Midnight/Pink)
Very lightweight and folds nicely.

Regulator: Atomic Z2, with or without x (Atomic Aquatics Z2 Regulator)
I'm not sure if I want the swivel "Z2x" which adds $100. I've never dived with a swivel... are they worth the extra money?

Safe Second: Atomic SS1 (Atomic Aquatics SS1 Safe Seconds)
My dive shop will give this to me for free! I like that it connects to my BCD instead of having another dangling hose.

Console: Suunto CB - One (Suunto CB - One | Suunto)
I just want something really basic because I already have an Oceanic Geo dive computer and I don't want to spend too much. This is expandable if I want to add more later. Also, if my computer ever stopped working, I would end my dive.

Fins: Aqua Lung HotShot (HotShot)