WOW.. How incredibly rude

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

RockyTop

Registered
Reaction score
Im glad I have been reading this board otherwise I would have been totally shocked by what just happened.

Im very new to the sport of scuba. I just recently finished the confined water portion of my ow class. i am doing my checkout dives next weekend.

i can already tell that i am going to love this. therfore, i am leaning toward purchasing my gear. i would love to be able to buy locally but simply will not get bent over the counter on pricing.

Anyway, I just called a local shop to inquire about their pricing. I asked the gentleman that answered if they carried scuba pro regulators. I just wanted to get an idea how much higer they would be at the shop. I was really expecting to get a yes we do or sorry, we dont carry scuba pro.

What i got was a no because we dont carry low quality gear. You only find top of the line gear in my store. He proceeded to tell me why scuba pro sucked and why what he carried was the best in the industry. This went on for a couple of minutes at least.

I just simply asked him if he carried scuba pro regulators. At least by reading some of the comments here i was not totally floored by what he was saying. I just let him finish his rant, laughed at him said thanks and goodbye. But geez why would any business act that way.

Needless to say, Im not looking forward to purchasing gear at all. i would rather go haggle with a car salesman than deal with this.