Moving up to a BP/W - needs some solid selection advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

AquaPixie

Contributor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
Farmington Hills, MI --> Weeki Wachee, FL
# of dives
500 - 999
Hello Fellow SB'ers,
Well the time has come for me to move up in gear - I am looking at purchasing a BP/Wing setup (and possiably doubles) - there are so many configurations to go with and I would REALLY like to have something I can grow with - i.e, moving to doubles.

I am studying for the TDI Advanced Nitrox and Decompression Theory class - so I need to make sure I get the right setup the 1st time.

What im thinking i will go with is this:
For the Wing, BP and Harness -
http://www.diveriteexpress.com/dive_rite/packages/st1065-2.shtml
Lift bag??
Reel??
I currently have 3 regs - 1 Mares ProtonXL, 1 Mares Abyess, and 1 Mares Nicos Octo.
(Are these good enough for 100+ ft and cold water (great lakes)?? :06:
I currently have a Bare:Next-Gen dry suit (gotta find fins that fit)
1 HP 80 steel Tank.

OK. - Whats your thoughts...
My budget is under a thousand (if possiable) :eyebrow:

What you picked should do fine, but I'd go with a hogarthian harness instead of the (IMHO inferior) deluxe harness.