Texas coastal dives

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

juliac

Reaction score
First off I am a newbie!! OW test was in a quarry so.... I will be in Houston at the end of this month and have heard about some trips out of Galveston and around that area. Would LOVE to hear some suggestions for my first ocean dive. Can anyone help???? most of what I see is about lake diving in Texas and I want to hit the ocean NOW!!!!! no YESTERDAY!!!!!

I'm not sure what trips out of Galveston you are refering to, but I'll give you my advice (keep in mind it is probably worth what you have paid for it). I'm only aware of trips to the Flower Gardens National Marine Sanctuary and to the drilling platforms in the Gulf. However, I would not suggest these trips for your first ocean dives. They can be challenging. I'd get some experience under my belt, and consider these trips only when I am confident in my skills.

Anyway, welcome to Scubaboard, and I'm sure someone will chime in if they are aware of any trips that fit what you are looking for.

If you go a little further South, around Corpus/Port Aransas, you may find someone to take you out beyond the jetties. Coastal Texas diving at its' finest, around 6 - 8 feet of glorious visibility.:D

well okay so you guys give the impression that maybe I don't need to go coastal (6-8 ft vis) or that i don't have enough experience yet for the better coastal dives so..... give some other suggestions please. I want to dive while I am there so where can I go? What is interesting?