Diving in July recommendations?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
Hi there, I'm from the UK and would like to go diving in July for my 30th eeek. Would love to see dolphins, whales, whalesharks - I know I'm not a proper diving not really into the tiny stuff :)

I'm rescue certified with about 60+ dives. I've been to Bali and Borneo before so would like to try somewhere different.

Anyone any tips on where might be a good place to spot the big fella's during July...

Will be travelling from the UK so Asia side tends to be more affordable but anywhere isn't out of the question...

Thanks for your advice

We just cancelled our trip to Egypt due to the political unstable situation and now are thinking about going to the Azores

With 60+ dives under your belt, you qualify for the "Simply the best" livebaord itinerary in the Red Sea. You'll have a choice of reasonably priced boats (flights included from the UK) and the big stuff are commonly seen.

I am surprised that Mr Cedric did not suggest Bali. OK, July might be a bit windy but there is a chance of seeing the fascinating Ocean Sunfish along with manta rays and sharks too.

Dolphins, whales and whalesharks is an awful tall order. It has only happened once in my life - probably never to happen again. July 2007 in Cocos. Along with sharks, and mantas too. Of the places that I have been to, Cocos, along with the Galapagos, would be my #1 recommendation.