New Diver - Rig Help Please! Tray? Pole? Lights?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

harozi2

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey everyone! I've been reading a ton throughout the forums and you guys have been incredibly helpful!

I am new to diving and just started the certification process. I am planning to get my open water dives in soon before going on a trip next month. I will be heading to Australia and diving Cairns toward the end of November. I am very interested in keeping up the hobby but since I'm new, I'm reluctant to spend a ton of money.

So far I've purchased a GoPro Hero 4 Black and the LCD BacPac since I can use that for lots of other purposes too.

I think I will get the Flip 3.1 filter with Dive and MacroMate mini... I can use the top connection for the Dive and the MacroMate on the side right??

So here is where I really need the help... I can't quite decide what to do regarding a pole mount versus an SRP tray. I know everyone says that the tray will provide the most stable shots but I really like the perspective that a pole shot gives you. Though I do like the fact that the tray can double as a tripod if I want to set it down... So is it possible to use the tray mounted to a pole? Is that just ridiculous? I guess I was thinking of using a smaller pole that I would keep retracted while using the tray and then extend the pole and use that when I want the perspective shots... Will that toss off the balance terribly of the pole?