Need Advice on Diving Indonesia / Borneo

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Maggie831

Reaction score
Hi All... I'm new to Scuba Board !!

Just came back from a month diving Roatan... the reefs were incredible and incredibly cheap !! HIGHLY RECOMMEND Seagrape & Native Sons...

Now I am planning next year's trip and need advice on Indonesia and South East Asia.. I usually travel solo & thus try to minimize what I spend on accommodations... Roatan was incredibly cheap at $15 per tank and my room (with a/c was $500 for the month)... any hope of finding similar pricing ??

Any advice on where to go, where to stay & who to dive with would be greatly appreciated !!!

I've been diving in SEA the last two winters (I'm from Manitoba)! Indonesia has some great diving, but the best is expensive ie. Wakitobi, Irian Jaya and Alor! Less expensive and easier to get to is the Komodo Is. area, also great diving! The least expensive and easiest to get to are Bali (and Lembongan) and the Manado and Lembeh Straits area. Depending on your time and money, you could do a combination of some of these sites! Also went to the Philipinnes! The diving there is almost as good as Indonesia and quit inexpensive and easy to access! Getting around the Vasaya Islands is very easy, the people are friendly, accomodation and food relatively cheap! Need any detailed info, send me a private message!!
Caio!!

As we have a forum dedicated to Indonesia/SE Asia, I have taken the liberty of moving it there in the hopes that it will get a better response.