Yet another new board member

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Dez

Reaction score
Morning all I'm Dez, have been diving for around a year and a half and am absolutely loving it. I'm based in Brisbane Australia and have spent a year diving in and around the Cairns area, any questions let me know.

Cheers
Dez

PS Wiz if your reading this check your E-mail please.

Hello Dez,

Well, I will just start by saying that YES, I am jealous. I've been diving for many years and have been diving in just about every state in the US and almost every country in the world, except one. The one place I want to dive more than any other place in the world is the one place Ive always dreamed of diving! Australia!

My time diving in the military allowed me to dive all around the world although not always in a "Vacation" style atmosphere. But the one place I never got to go was Down Under and Ive always wanted to so badly! What are you favorite places and what kind of underwater life do you see on a regular day diving?

=-)

King Neptune,

My diving has been a 60/40 split between Cairns/Brisbane, here the diving tends to be quite seasonal exspecially in Brisbane for example currently there are a lot of Grey Nurse Sharks (Sand Tigers) around which make for some great diving, only 3-4 weeks back I dove with 11 of the buggers, and then had the pleasure of seeing humpback whales breaching during the surface interval.
At other times of the year Mantas are common off of Brisbane, aswell as all the usual tropical/sub tropical marine life.