Safety Questions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cgm73

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
Good evening. Got a few safety questions.

I am a complete newbie so any questions that have already been answered please excuse. I researched what I can but can only find general answers and not specifics. I need proffesional advise. I am going to be diving in 60-120ft of water on eastern SC coast spear fishing. Using steel 120 low pressure nitrox tanks. When spear fishing often the buddy system is not often helpful if your buddy is to far away are poor visibility if a problem arise. First question.

1). At 110ft with a safety stop required what would be an adequate extra air supply to include a safety stop to get me to the surface. From what I've read spare air 3.0 would be worthless at that depth.

2) if an oring on the first stage blewout at that depth what would be an estimate on how fast my air would deplete. Also if it was an oring from regulator line are regulator started free flowing? With proper maintenance what would be the likelihood of any of these occurring?
Seems like these are the only way of loosing air extremely quick other than a cut hose.
If this happened would it be better to try to find buddy are just make an emergency ascent and miss safety stop and take chance.

Trying to have a backup plan if something went wrong. I'm 6.1ft 190lbs in decent shape.