Greetings from Ottawa, On Canada

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

deg

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
First of all, let's just say I'm totally new to this world but I've always wanted to learn to dive! I'm planning to get my open water certificatin in April with my girlfriend and start diving this summer because I started a new job that gives me plenty of off time! :)

any local divers willing to give me tips and willing to go dive, I'll take any opportunities that comes to me!!

cheers!

howdy and good luck...enjoy the inner space of the underwater world.

Hey there, I'm from Ottawa and usually make it out once a week to the St. Lawrence for 2 dives (during the bearable months of May - Oct). I don't mind showing you some sites.

You'll probably do your training at the quarry, but the river is much more interesting.

What shop are you getting certified with?

Sharky's was recommended to us by my girlfriend's cousin. nothing is set in stone yet because I am waiting on my job schedule before signing up as I work shifts.

Sharky's is good, that's where I got certified. They have weekly diving that caters to new divers, all are guided and well organized (but most shops will offer that). No cost either.

Ask for Michael and Ginette for the training, they are very thorough.

Good luck!

as for buying gear, I heard that buying from you LDS is always a better option but if not possible is it only Diver Warehouse that has a wide selection? other than online of course.