Any tips for a noobie?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

myw824

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hey!
I am VERY new to this world - still need to complete my last confined dive and open water dives for PADI certification. I had been wrong in thinking I would love it from the start. As soon as I got underwater, I felt some fear and a feeling that I would guess claustrophobics feel in tight spaces. My husband, who is an advanced open water diver, wants this to be "our thing" - traveling the world and diving together. I would love that to happen. As the first training weekend went on, I definitely got more comfortable, more buoyant, and started having fun! I still feel like a lot of the comfort comes with being able to surface in an instant if needed.
I am not at all claustrophobic and my husband feels like I had issues for a couple reasons that can easily be overcome - I had to wear 2 wetsuits in the pool (shorty over a 7/5mm full body because I was shivering) and the first day we had to skip lunch before the pool sessions and I was likely exhausted, also making me feel breathless. I dunno - I just felt like it was hard to breathe and was even disappointed when they checked my regulator only to tell me that it was breathing just fine. My ribs felt sore with breathing for a few hours after, again because I feel like I had to put such an effort into breathing.