TheWetArchaeologist, new and in need of advice

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

TheWetArchaeologist

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hey guys I'm very new to scuba but I already know I love it and that I want to do it for a living. I am a senior in college in the Anthropology Major. I'm planing to be a archaeologist specializing in marine sites. This summer I got into a marine archaeology field school run in Bermuda. Its going to be my first time diving in the ocean and my first time on a submerged site. It will be hopefully the first of many.
Right now I'm looking for some advice about equipment. I am thinking about getting a spring suit like a body glove 3/2 or something similar for the Bermuda trip. The rest of my equipment I plan on renting as I am basically broke after paying for the tickets and tuition for the school. I am looking to buy a simple diving watch or a very cheap computer. Whatever I get if it's a watch or computer it must be reliable, any suggestions guys? Any advice you guys can give a beginning diver/archaeologist would be much appreciated.

Honest advice. Get double the amount of dives before you start trying to being a Maritime Archaeologist. You need to be in a position where your SCUBA skills are second nature to you so you can concentrate on survey. With less than 25 dives you are not ready.