A Big Hello from Singapore!

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

w00ti

New
Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hello Everyone! I'm pretty new to diving and this forum! But everyone seems really nice and I hope to learn more about diving from everyone here:D

Just a burning question : How do you guys normally plan your dive trips? Do you go to shops recommended through the forums or is there a go to website to search for dive trips? I'm thinking of going on my first dive trip in Phuket and all the websites out there confuses me haha:shakehead:

When I plan a dive trip I use ScubaBoard as one source as well as sites like TripAdvisor and word-of-mouth from other divers. I don't remember ever being disappointed if I researched my trip ahead of time.

Ahh I see..seems like I have to do a bit of research. How long does it normally take to research? Also, what are the things to look out for during a dive trip?

Thanks in advance!

My technique is as follows.
Decide on possible destination(s).
Search Scubaboard on diving in these areas, weather, monsoon times, current, water temp, type of diving, etc
Search the web for dive shops etc.
Search Scubaboard for reviews/comments of these dive shops.
Search Tripadvisor for reviews on these dive shops.
Search Tripadvisor on accomodation.
Google "diveshop name" review
Google "accomodation name" review
Google "location name" review
If I am not finding much then post a question on Scubaboard for anyone who knows the location or area and can recommend
As with any of these reviews.