Another new guy

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Davetul

Registered
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
100 - 199
Hi, my name's Dave, and I just moved to Guam. I'm looking forward to some pretty nice diving over the next couple years.

I've been diving for about 5 years, but nothing too major, all off the coast of Virginia, and because of deployments none in the last 2 years. I haven't done any advanced work, but I'm planning on it in January if time permits.

Just one basic question for starters...I'm going on a '2 tank dive' next week. I have basic equipment, a standard b/c(only ever put 1 tank on it) and regulator. Am I going to need an equipment upgrade for this?

Thanks and look forward to 'meeting' people here.

Dave

Hi there and welcome to ScubaBoard! If you have any questions or problems, or you just want to chat, PM me! Otherwise, I hope to get to know you better around the boards!

Welcome to the board!

In my experience a two tank dive is actually two single tank dives. And no you won't need different gear.

Joe

Welcome to ScubaBoard! :happywave

If you mean two single tank dives, no, you can use the gear you have. If you mean that you will be diving with "doubles" (two tanks at the same time mounted on your back), then you should talk to someone that has experience with that kind of diving. With doubles you will probably need different equipment and should consider getting properly trained before using doubles.