New Lanier Diver

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Snuff

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
I live in Monticello, and have been diving for 3 years. I did my checkouts for my Rescue SCUBA Diver at the WB of Lanier back in the spring. I am interested in diving Lanier more, but I am hesitant to just jump in the water and start blowing bubbles. Does anyone host any formal functions for folks who are new to Lanier, or would anyone be willing to take a new guy along? Its not that I'm new to diving, I just don't want to waste my time hitting the wrong spots. Any help is appreciated! Thanks!

Snuff,

Welcome to the Looney Birds. Typically we Dive Lanier out of west bank park. There are 2 main dive areas which are commonly used by divers. One is referred to here

The dive community here is more scattered than it used to be so I would simply watch this forum for new posts and I am sure some people may PM you when they are going to dive lanier.

There isn't much to see in Lanier, mainly mud and sticks and beer cans; the seldom seen fish as well. Right now Lake Jocassee is prime for diving as it is 2 hours away and the Devil's Fork state park has a dive park within it for easy access to shorediving. Check this thread for info on diving Jocassee. There is also a dive shop that does boat dives on Lake Jocassee for a good price: Off-the-Wall