Headed to Aruba- beware of Mermaid Divers

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Jcarver

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hello from NC. I'm new to scubaboard and wanted to share some information for divers that might be planning a visit to Aruba. We have been certified since 09 and have logged right at 40 dives in 4 countries and Mermaid Divers in Aruba was the worst experience we have had.

Here is a quick run down of our experience-
Pick up scheduled for 7:50 AM they arrived at 8:25 AM. The dive was actually scheduled for 8:30AM and we FINALLY left the dock at 10:00AM.

Carlos gave us a spill about wanting to provide the best experience for divers. Even if they have to cancel a trip if conditions were not good. This was crap we went out with 5 foot swells and visibility that was terrible. The boat crew indicated that it had been this way for at least a week.

BEWARE of the cancellation policy- somewhere in the miles of paperwork and liability waivers you agree to a complete no refund policy for any reason. Finally we load into a rattle trap van and head to the dock. After all the equipment is loaded on the boat we are ready to head out.