Divers who smoke

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

SHARKBAIT94

Reaction score
I’m still new to diving only have a couple of dive under my belt, but I wonder what does smoking cigarettes do to a diver besides the known usual info. With out stating the obvious I.e. It will kill you, destroys lungs, pollutes air, heavy breathing, depleting air quicker. I mean what are some of the ill effect of a smoker being under water. Before any one wants to lecture me yes I smoke ok I smoke!! Yes I know “I” should quit, Yes I know it bad for me and YOU NONE SMOKERS I’m trying to and have cut back a lot. Being a firefighter and medic its all around me and makes it even harder at times so let it rest at that. All I would like to know is what are the ill effects. All I ever hear is cigarette smoke, caffeine and alcohol are not wise choices for divers. I understand the alcohol and caffeine with dehydration and the other effects that accompany the use of caffeine and alcohol but not nicotine. Any and all facts and maybe some speculation and answers greatly appreciated. Lectures and comments are not needed or welcomed.

There is not a single ingredient in a cigarette that is even suspected of being good for you!

Having absorbed that toxic potion of chemicals and gases into your blood stream, now you descend beneath the water and let the elevated partial pressures and high concentrations of Nitrogen, CO2, O2, etc. interact with them. Can this be good?