Trip to Cancun

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
My partner and I are headed to Cancun Sept.4th through the 11th. She is newly certified and has not experienced ocean diving. I am a novice diver with only about 20 dives to date. Will she need a wet suit this time of year or just a thin protection type of suit? Also can anyone reccommend any dive outfitters that can show us some good dive sites or do we need to travel to Cozumel. I have heard good things about
Playa del Carmen as well as Isla de Mujeres. I am comfortable in wreck dives, wall dives or reef dives. I want to insure she sees all the wonderful sites down below, but more importantly I want her feeling safe so she enjoys it and wants to do it again soon.
Any inputs would be greatly appreciated. Thank you

Hi..I was just down there a month ago and water temps were in the low 80s, so I didn't even wear a shorty. The best diving in the region is definitely Cozumel, but Isla Mujeres is worth a look...have dove with Squaloadventures several times, including this last trip. Some diving with current but nothing incredibly challenging. You're also at the tail end of whale shark season, which you can easily do from Isla Mujeres (can only snorkle with them, not dive, but you will see lots of them!). Playa del Carmen is a great place to spend a couple of days. Haven't actually dove from there other than to go to dive the cenotes (also worth checking out).