How young is too young?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
My Fiancé and I are taking the national geographic scuba lessons now. My 11 year old really wants to dive also. She is a great swimmer. Practically lives in our pool. Is it a good idea to get them diving so young? She is really responsible and picks up on things really quick. She learned to snow board in one day. By the end of the day was going down intermediate slopes. Since I am new at it also wasn’t sure if it was a good idea. We were thinking of giving it to her for her 12 birthday in October as a present. By then we would have at least 15 dives under us but still wasn’t sure if that’s too soon. Would appreciate other divers with Jr divers giving some feed back of thoughts or concerns.

Thanks
Stacy

Check out this thread for some information about a couple of the things you should consider.

Since you are so new to diving you are correct about having concerns about adding a young diver to your task load.
Ber :lilbunny:

i know that there are some physiological concerns with children being exposed to
pressure during their pre-teen years ... the evidence is not conclusive, from what
i understand, but it has caused the agencies to adopt minimum age and depth standards for children.

i believe PADI permits a Junior certification (between 11 and 14 years old) but
the child has to dive with a pro or certified parent or guardian to a max depth
of 40 feet.

at 14, they can be fully certified.