PADI certification long weekend vacation?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

veez

New
Reaction score
# of dives
Hi all,

this is my first post on this board - thank you for hosting this!

So i am a newbie - i have had a life-long love for the sea, mostly through sailing and light freedinvg, and always wanted to try scuba diving. A few months ago i finally did an introduction to scuba diving class in Barbados, and i loved it. My girlfriend is PADI certified and i am considering getting certified myself so that we can go diving together.

I live in NYC and have a very intense work schedule, so finding time is always difficult. I am planning on taking a day or two off in three weeks (weekend of June 10th) and was thinking that it would be fun to do a weekend dedicated to diving classes, aimed at getting certified. Is this a realistic possibility?

Also, this would be a vacation weekend for me, so ideally would not mind doing this in a place where i can enjoy a beer on the beach at night. Not looking for a party location, just a nice relaxing spot with good classes, good diving and a beach. Not fond of touristy spots.

Again, i am based in NYC so would need to be something within a 5-hour flight radius. Central america comes to mind of course, but am looking for ideas and recommendations, so please lay your wisdom upon me.

Thank you so much for your help, looking forward to your advice, and to getting to know you on the board!

Alvise