Computer/Transmitter question

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

dberry

Hydrophilic
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I know some people have strong opinions about transmitters, but this isn't a thread about the wisdom of buying one.

I bought a dive computer, and was given the transmitter as a gift (Amphos Air).

I intend to ONLY use it with a SPG as a backup.

I'm a datahead, and I like seeing my air consumption plotted with the depth profile after a dive. I'm new at this, and it's nice to get the feedback (and see the improvements as I dive more.)

BUT I went diving on a family trip last month and was shocked when the instructor had to disconnect the SPG in order to attach the transmitter. Not enough ports in the reg. All's well that ends well, but I felt a bit naked without the SPG backup.

So questions:
(1) Do most rental regs have enough ports (4?) to take the transmitter and SPG?
(2) Do dive shops object to putting a diver's transmitter on their regs?
(3) Am I silly to always want the SPG as a backup? Any of you actually dive with only a transmitter?
(4) Will keeping the transmitter seriously limit my choice of reg when I eventually decide to buy?

Sorry if this is a well-worn topic.

-Don

1. most rental regs do not have 2 HP ports, buy your own
2. most will probably prefer to have you dive with their SPG not a transmitter