Tummy Problem While Diving

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

salvatore77

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
I am really new to scuba world, in progressing to get my Open Water License. I went to pool sessions for three time and experienced quite bad tummy problem. I feel some sort like heartburn, it cause me hardly to breath. Its seem that the O2 is not enough inhale to my lungs. So uncomfortable. Anyone having the same experience? How to overcome the problem? :depressed:

It could be many things: gear that fits too tightly, anxiety, contaminated air, air not turned on all the way, or perhaps a physiological condition affected by the pressure of the water. More information is needed to be truly helpful. You should discuss the issue and symptoms with your instructor, check your equipment for proper operation, and if there is a persisting problem, see your doctor.
DivemasterDennis

I think the gear was fix and working with great condition, also nothing wrong with the air and water because other divers were around and they were not experiencing such problem.

It might related to anxiety or perhaps a physiological condition affected by the pressure of the water, how to overcome the problem? Any treatment or medication?

I have been diving for 10 years and no matter how hard i have tried to improve and/or alter my breathing techniques I get heartburn on every dive. I have Fortunately for what I experience isn't as severe as what you discribe and doesn't effect my respiration. I have tried adjusting a
equipment but