Importance of Log Book?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
I have been diving for about two years and logged my first 6 dives or so then lost my log book. What are the benefits to logging dives? What is this information used for? Do the logs have to be signed/stamped by a dive shop to be considered legitimate? Any help with these questions would be great! Thanks!

Certain numbers of logged dives are sometimes required for additional classes, such as for dive master or some types of technical training. You occasionally hear stories about dive operators wanting to see proof of recent or certain kinds of dives. Other than that, it's up to you whether or not you want to bother with it. Some do, many don't.

I use my log book to keep track of which sites I liked and what I saw. Then, next time I am at a particular location, I have an idea of where I would like to go. I also note what weights I used with what wetsuit, what I want to bring next time I go diving, names of good divemasters, etc. I've only had anyone ask for my log book once and what was when we were going to do a deep wreck and I didn't have my AOW yet. Of course, the log book was in the hotel. A quick call to the local dive shop and a "Oh, them? They're fine, don't worry about seeing the log book" saved the dives for us.