Wikipedia... not a good resource..

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

911Diver

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
I am sure some of you know but others may not. Wikipedia is a not place to find accurate information for research. Anyone can go on there and edit anything they want.

"Welcome to Wikipedia,
the free encyclopedia that anyone can edit.".... from their website.

I am not saying that all information is not accurate from there, but would rather trust a different source than Wikipedia. I am a grad student and have been writing papers for what seems like forever... All of my professors will not take Wikipedia as a source for my research papers... for anything at all really.

Please take this for what it is.. information only. I am just trying to help those who look to the internet for information, you may not get the facts from Wikipedia..

Thanks..

While Wikipedia is not a PRIMARY source, it is a very useful one.

I find Wikipedia an excellent place to research stuff. Most articles have a good list of references at the end. Of course, you should always be leery of trusting THOSE references too. :D

Hopefully your professors don't let you quote any sort of encyclopedia as a source either. Do they?

While wikipedia is open for anyone to edit, I've found that the information it contains is as good, if not better, than what you find in traditional encyclopedias - at least in my field (sciences).