Work Travel

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
I have been looking into different engineering jobs and some include long term travel. I have only done some short term travel for work. Does anyone have any experience with this? Do you travel back home on weekends, every other weekend, etc.? My background is in Mechanical engineering and I am looking for something that will keep me challenged and interested.

With long term travel, do you have any time to do any diving or tourist things? On my short trips, I have been too busy for much more than a good dinner and quick swim in the hotel pool.

Does long term travel mean "several months at 1 location" or does it mean "a new client every week"?

The new client very week sucks. You work all week and then spend your weekend travelling to the next client. Never come home. I was once at a job where the equipment installation techs eventually revolted because they were essentially at work constantly with no time off.

The several months model sometimes works out okay. Since you stay long term, you get time off (weekends?) in a place you eventually become a little familiar with. If the term is long enough, some companies will toss in a few trips home. I have a coworker whose wife has been granted 4 trips home for a 6 month posting. She burnt them all in the first 6 weeks.

I also know people who for the last 2 years fly out Monday morning and fly home Friday afternoon. They live in neither place.

It helps to be single. Or leads to it...