Florida diver looking for diving buddies in Monterey

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
Hi everyone. Newbie here on the boards.

I'm flying out to visit friends in Monterey next week, and I've heard how great the diving is. I'd like to spend a day seeing what there is to offer. I probably don't have more than a day, but my schedule is flexible from Tues - Fri.

1) I've done somewhere in the the neighborhood of 30 dives, about a third of them shore dives. I've only done a couple of cold-water dives, however. Because of my relative inexperience, I'm kind of hoping I can find a group of people shore diving. I hear from my friends that they see groups of divers doing the shore dives regularly. Anybody know how I might get plugged in with this? Also, my understanding is shore dives are the way to go in Monterey because the kelp forests aren't so far away. Is this true?

2) I have some of my own gear I could bring, but it seems that dive rentals run a pretty fair price out there, and with the cost of luggage and needing to rent my own tanks and weights anyway, maybe that's all a wash. Anyway, can anybody offer any advice on the decision of whether to bring one's own gear or not? I have a dive computer, so that helps, but I've only recently started using it anyway. I can make do with rented equipment in decent repair. What do people think of the dive shops out there?