Shore dives near the aquarium.

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

cellowithgills

Registered
Reaction score
Hello,
I am looking for any shore diving spots around the Monterey Bay Aquarium that would be safe for a group of divers with mixed experience (just out of open water to dive master). I have no previous experience with diving in California, but I'm from a spot in Oregon where 4-6ft viz is good and 1ft or less is still dive-able so just about anything will be better. Also, any suggestions for a good LDS for rentals? We will be there the first week of March.

Sent from my SCH-I510 using Tapatalk 2

Breakwater Scuba on Cannery Row and as the name implies the breakwater is at their doorstep.

Here's some linkage to a description of Breakwater aka San Carlos beach. Weekends can get crowded, as my instructor described it a long time ago, "Some Saturdays it looks like Dunkirk". And MacAbee Beach, another shore dive a little closer to the aquarium. UW maps.

Macabee beach is good easy dive on Cannery Row and there is a big parking lot right across the street. There will definitely be less divers at Macabee than Breakwater also Bamboo Reef is a good shop to use they are on Lighthouse just a couple blocks from Cannery Row.