Stylus Tough 8000 - Strobe Suggestions

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

orionnt

ScubaBoard Sponsor
ScubaBoard Sponsor
Scuba Instructor
Divemaster
Reaction score
# of dives
200 - 499
I recently picked up a Stylus Tough 8000 and PT-045 Housing to replace my old canon, and I was looking into getting a Strobe for my camera. When it comes to photography im pretty much a total noob. I don't think I really need a big expensive top of the line strobe, but it would be nice to have a good strobe to help eliminate some back scatter and produce more colorful pictures.

The diving around here is generally low-viz (20ft max), minimal current, and lots of sediment in the water.

I have been looking at the Fantasea Remora strobe, but I am not sure what a good setup would be. I have a limit of about $300 max.

Any Suggestions?

I have a bunch of lighting packages that will work great with your camera.

The new Remora looks to be fairly good, but it's going to be hard to hit your $300 mark as you'll need a sync cord, tray and arms. You could with this package, upgrade the strobe and sync cord. A focus light in your conditions is just about mandatory.

I sell quite a few of the UltraMax packages; this one is good but is about $400.

As far as strobe info, you can check out this blog article on strobes;
Optical Ocean: Above and Below.: Choosing an Underwater Strobe for Point & Shoot Cameras