Macro Shots with XZ-1

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

staggsSevin

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
I just don't log dives
I'm pulling this from another thread to get some feed back on doing macro shots.

Hi Guys,

I've been using a XZ-1 for a couple years now and I think I'm going to primary just focus on Macro shots from here on out. I have the Nauticam housing along with a single S2000 with a sola 600. I just got back from a week's diving in Roatan but when I got there I realized that my fiber cable was broke....oops....so I did all my shots with just ambient lighting which I'm fine with.

I want to use my current setup and gear towards getting better macro shots.....I typically shoot in program mode (every time I do manual I just don't do that good and I only do 2 dive trips a year so I don't like to do my practicing on the trips).

I have a single Inon UCL165 M67 andwhen it is attached should I not use zoom and just get close enough to fill the frame? Or is it ok to use the zoom, I just took it on one single dive this last trip and it seemed like the couple shots I took with it were really blurry but I was using zoom.

So besides maybe getting another Inon UCL165 to stack on the current one is there anything out there better that wont break the bank that may be easier to use? Also for lighting purposes do you think it would be worth adding a second s2000 for my macro shots?

Thanks!