How early do you start your season?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

zed255

New
Reaction score
Paris,Ontario, Canada (43Ž° 13' 0" N, 80Ž° 24' 0"
# of dives
200 - 499
Hi all,

I have been diving for two years, mostly in quarries local to Southern Ontario, and so far from mid May until late October. I am just curious about two things:

1) How early does the ice typically come off the water in my region?

2) How early do most divers start to hit the water?

I'm not opposed to cold water despite not yet being a dry suit owner (though I aim to rectify that for my wife and I at some point). I'm interested to know as the viz always seems so much better earlier in the season that putting up with the cold seems worth it. Is it possible to have poor viz really early due to the spring 'thermal inversion' as the ice melts?

Jason Kuetemann

Hey how are ya?