Gato - Cave (Tunnel)

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

kennedy

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
We are headed to Malapascua in March!!! Very excited as it is our first trip to the Philippines. I have a question about the Cave/Tunnel dive. Does anyone know if it is an entirely closed environment? I am not good with not being able to see the surface. :D Is it possible for me to dive either over it or around it and meet the other divers at the exit? Thank you.

Sandy

Sandy

It is a big open cave and you can not see the exit straight away from the entrance. As caves go it is not claustrophobic and there are not by any means tight squeeze throughs. You can't go over it as the entrance is at surface level meaning that you are going under the island itself, going around either side would most likely be too far to manage easily if your intention is to re-group on the other side.

Not every dive on Gato island involves diving through the cave so you can still go there and do the dives but you'd need to get straight before hand what the plan regarding the cave is and whether or not you are happy with it.

If you have not yet decided on an operator I would strongly recommend Evolution as they (in my opinion) run the tightest ship out there, you could even drop David there a line in advance and refer your original question to him and see what he suggests.

Have fun out there, it is truly awesome

Hi Sandy,