Six Months in the Fils! Want ot upgrade my Diving level. Where's a Economical School?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
25 - 49
People, newbie here from Montana USA. Going to the Fils in March for six (yes 6!) + months of travels by motorcycle, island to island, to go diving, among other things (wwnn). Now an open water PADI diver with about 50 dives in the last 10 years. I want to upgrade to advanced, and more, maybe deep, wreck, cave, drift, etc.. Where could I find a good, yet economical school there? Plan on moving there (Dumaguete?) soon after too. Do they hire white guys as instructors like in Thailand? or local pinoys mostly?

1. Not many places offer cave and wreck, especially cave.
2. You can cover many places in the country in 6 months. I hope your paper is in order.
3. Competition, demand and supply! So if you want cheap diving/tuition, you probably need to go to popular places eg. Alona Beach, Moalboal and PG. The cheapest way probably would be all the way from AOW to IDC from the same operator. But you have to ask yourself if it is the best way. Send out the enquiry and mentioning the potential employment as well! Promise is one thing and whether the shop can deliver is another matter!
4. I will let the expert to answer your LAST question.

Sorry for not being helpful at all.