First Stage flood ?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

VividOceans

Registered
Reaction score
# of dives
I'm a Fish!
Hi there,

Is there a way of telling if my first stage has flooded? I've only just had it serviced and I have no knowledge of how it could of happened. I have water inside my pressure gauge that's why I ask.

I can't take it to a service technician as I live on a tiny island far from anywhere.

Thank you in advance.

Hi there,

Is there a way of telling if my first stage has flooded? I've only just had it serviced and I have no knowledge of how it could of happened. I have water inside my pressure gauge that's why I ask.

I can't take it to a service technician as I live on a tiny island far from anywhere.

Thank you in advance.

the good news is your first stage is probably fine. The bad news is you will be needing to replace that SPG. When you can see water in your SPG, it comes from a failed SPG case, not the 1st stage. There are a few older SPGs where the face screws on and there is an o-ring seal. If you have one of those, it might be repairable. Otherwise, the SPG is toast.