Appropriate size tank for PSD?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

CT Dave

Registered
Reaction score
I am new to public safety diving. I am a member of a volunteer group in Connecticut. One of our officers uses only 63 cubic feet tanks. He explained that he does so because he has a short torso and it is more comfortable when sitting on the edge of our boat waiting to dive. He said the team limits diver bottom time to 20 minutes for safety reasons and to preserve attention span. It seems that the smaller tank makes sense. I rarely use up an entire 80 cubic feet tank when diving, even on long or repetitive dives. Although I'm taller than he is, the shorter tanks would seem to be more comfortable out of the water for me as well. Is there a reason to use the larger as opposed to the smaller tank? Thanks in advance.

Dave

PS I dive with a 30 cubic feet pony bottle. I don't know if that information affects anyone's opinion.

What ever works and makes you happy. If an 80 is to big go smaller, if it's to small go bigger. As long as you have a fair amount of air left over at the end of the dive you've got enough.

Welcome aboard and "DO NOT let peer pressure push you into anything".

Gary D.

Dave:

First, welcome to the board. Hope the time spent is of value. There are some individuals with tremendous experience who can provide you with their guidance on PSD.