What do you think about replacing a old Dacor Fury with Oceanic Alpha 9?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

KathyV

ScubaBoard Supporter
ScubaBoard Supporter
Reaction score
# of dives
500 - 999
My husband and I have been diving for many years but we only do warm water recreational dive trips once per year.

Every year we take our equipment in to the local dive shop to have it serviced. Most of our equipment is pretty old but we take good care of it and it doesn't get a lot of use.

My husband has been using a Dacor Fury regulator that was new when he purchased it long ago (back in 2001) and he has always liked it. This year when he took our equipment in for annual service, the dive shop owner told him that he can't service the Dacor any longer because no one makes parts. We called another area dive shop and they said the same thing.

So we are shopping for a new regulator; the local dive shop owner is recommending an Oceanic Alpha 9; but my first regulator was an Oceanic Omega and I much prefer my current ScubaPro reg. (I know that there are a lot of Oceanic fans out there and that's fine, but I personally like my ScubaPro much better.)