Only 1 HP port now what?

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Wicket

Contributor
Reaction score
# of dives
50 - 99
So I'm new to all this stuff and my LDS sold me on the Aeris Ion setup. Well its been okay but after my last trip and having my computer fail I want to add a backup gauge. Today at a different LDS i was told the first stage only has 1 HP port. So my question is can I add some kind of splitter to run my transmitter and the hose or do I need a new regulator? Can I just get another 1st stage with more ports? Sorry for the newbie question but I've had two different answers at different LDS's now.

Keep the guage and hose in your gear bag and if the transmitter fails call the dive and swap to the guage when before your next dive. Loosing your transmitter on a NDL dive is bad but it does not change how much air you have in your tank if you are keeping tabs on how much air you have regularly than it shouldnt be more than a few hundred psi off of what it was last time just surface and cuss the transmitter when you get back on the boat.

Yes you can change 1st stages. Since it doesn't appear that Aeris makes a 2HP port 1st stage, go with an Oceanic or Hollis - it's the same company. Aeris is being absorbed into Oceanic now anyway. An FDX-10 is probably similar to yours but with two HP ports. http://www.leisurepro.com/p-ocnfdx10o/oceanic-fdx10-dvt-regulator-1st-stage-only

Or just get a port splitter - XS Scuba makes one. Make sure you get the HP model.
XS Scuba Hose Adapters P/N AC906 near the bottom.