yearly maintenance

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

randnon

Reaction score
Hello my name is Rich and I am new to scuba board. I just got my gear back for its annual servise and felt ripped off , $350.00 for warrenty maintaince on 2 sets of scubapro gear. I am an advanced capable mechanic and want to do it myself. can any one help me locate a good parts source. Thanks for any help , Rich

The SP recommended close-to-salt-water rate for labor on an annual service is about $25.00 per stage. So a first/second/octo should run no more than $75.00 per regulator for labor, and the parts should be free under warranty.

Checking over a BC should also not cost more than $25.00 and we usually give a once over for free if they come in with a reg for service. So I would agree that you got screwed to the tune of about $200.

SP parts can be found on e-bay but other options are limited as SP keeps a fairly tight rein on parts sales. L-P imports grey market regs, but so far they do not sell grey market parts.

Did you purchase the regs from that shop or were they punishing you for purchasing elsewhere? $200.00 would be a bit on the high side. $350.00 is rediculous. I'd be talking to the shop about a refund. He should understand that the extra 150 to 200 that he made from you can easily be offset many times over by the loss of your business as well many you might tell of your experience.