tips for C-5000

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

minnesota01r6

Contributor
Reaction score
I am new to underwater photography, and I recently purchased the pt-19 UW housing for my c-5000 point & shoot camera. I couldn't pass it up ($19 on ebay from olympus). I am wondering what else I should buy and what type of photos to take to get the most out of my underwater photography experience. I plan on doing more close up photography of small creatures rather than trying to take photos of an entire shipwreck - is that my best plan for a no-frills camera or should I be doing something else? Also, should I invest in a macro lens or strobe? I will be going to Fiji for my honeymoon in July, and if I don't have the proper gear, I won't be able to buy it while I'm there. Since I don't get to dive very often (2 trips per year) I would like to come prepared.

Any tips from more experienced photographers would be great!

Thanks a ton!

EDIT: also, do standard macro lenses work underwater with the pt-19 or do I have to buy a special one since the lense screws on to the outside of the housing?

thanks for the links jamdiver. I have a couple more questions if anyone is willing to help point me in the right direction:

1) what lenses will fit this camera? I see on a lot of UW photography sites that lenses are for the "pt-20 and pt-27" (or some other pt model) but will these fit my pt-19 or are the threads/size different?