"Special Discount" On Gear From Dive School

Please register or login

Welcome to ScubaBoard, the world's largest scuba diving community. Registration is not required to read the forums, but we encourage you to join. Joining has its benefits and enables you to participate in the discussions.

Benefits of registering include

• Ability to post and comment on topics and discussions.
  • A Free photo gallery to share your dive photos with the world.
  • You can make this box go away

Joining is quick and easy. Log in or Register now!

Reaction score
# of dives
0 - 24
Hiya all,

I'm new to diving, this is my first post here, and I'm taking my open water certification course this Saturday and Sunday.

The master instructor at this particular school says that he offers exclusive prices available "ONLY to students." However, upon reading various reviews of the dive school, former students claim that they can get the same gear online for half the price, and that this "special" price isn't really very special at all.

My question is, is this a common practice? And, is it legit? I'd rather buy my gear from someone willing to take the time to work with me and give me honest opinions. Not from someone who is just trying to throw a pitch at me, in order to get me to buy $1,500 worth of over-priced stuff before the class begins (I heard a rumor that gear sales is where the money is at, not actual student fees).

Thank you in advance for your time/responses! :coffee: